Community News

September HOA Newsletter

Book Club: The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek

MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 26, 2022 AT 7 PM

The bestselling historical fiction novel from Kim Michele Richardson is a novel following Cussy Mary, a packhorse librarian, and her quest to bring books to the Appalachian community she loves, perfect for readers of William Kent Kreuger and Lisa Wingate. The perfect addition to your next book club!

The hardscrabble folks of Troublesome Creek have to scrap for everything—everything except books, that is. Thanks to Roosevelt’s Kentucky Pack Horse Library Project, Troublesome’s got its very own traveling librarian, Cussy Mary Carter.

Cussy’s not only a book woman, however, she’s also the last of her kind, her skin a shade of blue unlike most anyone else. Not everyone is keen on Cussy’s family or the Library Project, and a Blue is often blamed for any whiff of trouble. If Cussy wants to bring the joy of books to the hill folks, she’s going to have to confront prejudice as old as the Appalachians and suspicion as deep as the holler.

Inspired by the true blue-skinned people of Kentucky and the brave and dedicated Kentucky Pack Horse library service of the 1930s, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek is a story of raw courage, fierce strength, and one woman’s belief that books can carry us anywhere—even back home. 

Pool Season Reminders

The pool will be closing for the year on September 30th. Once the pool is closed all residents’ key fobs will not have access to the pool gate until it opens in the spring.

Playground Replacement

Over the fall and winter months, while the pool is closed, the HOA Board and playground committee will be removing the Pirate Ship play set and replacing it with a functional play set that is open and completely visible. 

We believe this is necessary for our community. The pirate ship is in disrepair and at a point in its life where maintaining it will become more costly than replacing it. It is also being used as a hangout for activities that could potentially cause harm to our youths. 

The first step will be finding a new home for the pirate ship. We plan to offer it for free as is, to any party that wants to remove the equipment. 

Once the current equipment is gone, we will be working to build a new swing set that is safe, fun, and secure. 

An update on the playground will be given at our next HOA meeting on Monday, September 19th.

Arc Compliance

As a reminder to the community, it is essential to submit a proper ARC Request for any Improvements or changes to your property. Adding a Fence to your property also requires an ARC request. Additionally, the community guidelines detail the allowed stain colors for fences. Residents can find the Fencing Guidelines listed on our Residents page. Residents can submit an ARC request through the AppFolio Portal provided by Elite Housing Management.  Residents should also remember to read the Grand Lake covenants concerning street parking.
Residents can submit an ARC request through the AppFolio Portal provided by Elite Housing Management.

HOA Board Meeting

Our Neighborhood HOA board meets monthly on the 3rd Monday of the month at 6:30 pm. These meetings are open to all homeowners who wish to attend.

To help make sure that all discussion topics are covered, the board asks if you are attending for a specific issue for discussion that you email communication@grandlakehoa.com with a brief description/explanation at least 24 hours before the board meeting so the agenda can be updated and the board can provide time for you to speak about any concerns or issues you are having.

2022 Board Members:

Teddy Schell (President)
Jason Sowash (Vice President)
Ela Perry (Treasurer)
Steven Lowder (Secretary)
Sam Hilson (Communication)